Award Winners

Grad Student Awards 2018-2019

Award Winners

Graduate student awards for 2018-2019 were presented at the 2019 annual departmental meeting. Congratulations to the recipients:

Outstanding PhD Dissertation

  • Brandon Fain
    Advisor: Kamesh Munagala
    Algorithms for Public Decision Making

Outstanding PhD Prelim Exam

  • Yuan Deng
    Advisor: Vincent Conitzer
    Dynamic Mechanism Design in Complex Environments

Outstanding RIP Award

  • Zhengjie Miao
    Advisor: Sudeepa Roy
    Explaining Wrong Queries Using Small Examples
  • Xiang Wang
    Advisor: Rong Ge
    Stabilized SVRG: Simple Variance Reduction for Nonconvex Optimization

MS Project Award

  • Reem Mokhtar
    Advisor: John Reif
    Modeling DNA Nanodevices Using Graph Rewrite Systems

TA Award

  • John Snyder - CompSci 310, Introduction to Operating Systems, Term Spring 2019, Professor Alvin Lebeck