Results: 364

The Department extends its congratulations to Kamesh Munagala, recently honored with the prestigious National Science Foundation CAREER award. The award is given "in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations," according to the NSF. Other recent NSF CAREER award recipients in the Department include Landon Cox, Shivnath Babu, and Ronald Parr.… read more about Kamesh Munagala Receives NSF CAREER Award »

Tea and Computer Science Teaching award winner challenges students without intimidation In small classes, Alexander Hartemink makes tea for his students throughout the semester. "It promotes the notion that we're working together to accomplish something, that we\'re on the same team; and besides, it's soothing," said Hartemink, a 34-year-old assistant professor of computer science. Hartemink's effort to create a welcoming classroom environment for his students is just one of the reasons why he won the 2007 David and… read more about Alex Hartemink Wins Brooks Teaching Award »

I am thrilled to inform you that Alex Hartemink is the recipient of the David and Janet Vaughan Brooks Teaching Award for 2006-2007. His passion and dedication for teaching, his deep commitment to both undergraduate and graduate students, his broad knowledge, and his superb communication and organizational skills have made him an extraordinary teacher and mentor. Duke has benefited a great deal from his teaching and research skills. This is a well deserved honor. Congratulations, Alex. Pankaj Agarwal Chair, Computer… read more about Alex Hartemink Recipient of Brooks Teaching Award »

Professors Alan Biermann and Donald Loveland have been named ACM Fellows by the Association for Computing Machinery. ACM established the Fellows Program in 1993 to recognize members who have made outstanding technical and professional achievements in information technology. Professor Biermann is recognized for his major contributions in the areas of automatic programming, natural language dialogue processing, and computer science education. Professor Loveland is recognized for defining several major proof procedures and… read more about Alan Biermann and Donald Loveland Named ACM Fellows »